Waffles, Toast and Tater-Flats

Just a quick post to share with you the newest member of my kitchen, a gently used waffle maker I acquired from my papa.
photo
After some vigorous cleaning I decided to put it to good use. I made waffles, toast and tater-flats! Yes, you read correctly Tater-FLATS ๐Ÿ™‚
photo
It was definitely a good morning for breakfast. Let me show you what I did. For the waffles I used this recipe from The Pioneer Women. I won’t get into the details of making waffles since her step-by-step recipe is so easy to follow. My waffle making skills still need some polishing but all in all they look pretty yummy!
photo 3
Next is my toast, the most basic of them all, I just slathered some butter on both sides and closed the lid. Thats it! Now if you want to spruce it up a bit add a sprinkle of cinnamon and sugar and be amazed. It kinda taste like a flat churro only buttery ๐Ÿ™‚
photo 2
Last but not least are the tater-flats I made using this technique from America’s Test Kitchen. Here’s how I made them.

Your Ingredients:
2 1/4 teaspoons salt
2 1/2 pounds russet potatoes
1 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 quart peanut or vegetable oil (if your gonna deep fry them)

1. Whisk 1 cup water and salt together in bowl until salt dissolves.
2. Grate your raw potatoes and add them to your salty water. The original recipe uses a food processor but I don’t have one so I used a grater which I think works just as well.
photo
IMG_0323
3. Drain your potatoes in a strainer or cheese cloth by squeezing potatoes until dry.
IMG_0324IMG_0325
4. Microwave the potatoes uncovered for 8 to 10 minutes, stir halfway through cooking process
5. Add your flour and pepper into the cooked potatoes
IMG_0327
6. Grease your surface with oil and add the potato mixture into the waffle maker, cook until brown and crispy
IMG_0328photo 1
Thats all folks. Hope you enjoy as much as I did ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

